Valtioneuvoston kanslia
Press release 289/2005
Government Communications Unit
23.9.2005 9.01

Ministerial changes in Finnish Government

On 23 September, Eero Heinäluoma, Chairman of the Finnish Social Democratic Party, Member of Parliament, and Susanna Huovinen, Master of Social Sciences, Member of Parliament, were appointed as Members of the Government. Eero Heinäluoma is the new Minister of Finance in the Vanhanen Cabinet and the Minister deputising for the Prime Minister. Susanna Huovinen was appointed as Minister of Transport and Communications.

Antti Kalliomäki, Minister of Finance, becomes the new Minister of Education, Leena Luhtanen, Minister of Transport and Communications, moves on as Minister of Justice and Tuula Haatainen, Minister of Education, as Minister of Social Affairs and Health.

The President of the Republic decided on the appointments and transfers on Friday, 23 September.

The President of the Republic released upon request Sinikka Mönkäre, Minister of Social Affairs and Health, and Johannes Koskinen, Minister of Justice, from their duties as Ministers and Members of the Government.

On 23 September, the Government decided on the division of duties among ministers, ministers' deputies and the composition of Cabinet Committees.

© Valtioneuvoston kanslia
Snellmaninkatu 1 A, Helsinki PL 23, 00023 Valtioneuvosto
Puhelin 0295 16001