Hyppää sisältöön
Valtioneuvosto ja ministeriöt Media

Annika Saarikko appointed as Minister of Science and Culture

Government Communications DepartmentMinistry of Education and Culture 6.8.2020 14.24 | Published in English on 6.8.2020 at 14.59
Press release 508/2020

On Thursday 6 August, the President of the Republic appointed Member of Parliament Annika Saarikko, Master of Arts, Bachelor of Education, as a member of the Government and Minister of Science and Culture. On the same occasion, the President of the Republic released Member of Parliament and entrepreneur Hanna Kosonen, Master of Arts, from her responsibilities as Minister of Science and Culture and a member of the Government.

Following the presidential session, the government plenary session made decisions on the changes to the ministerial portfolios, deputising arrangements, and the composition of ministerial working groups in which Saarikko will replace Kosonen. 

The Government also appointed Tuomo Puumala, Master of Social Sciences, and Jari Partanen, Master of Laws, to continue in their duties as state secretaries. Partanen serves as State Secretary for the Centre Party’s ministerial group.

Personal details of Minister of Science and Culture Saarikko
Ministerial portfolios and deputising
Ministerial working groups

Inquiries: Päivi Paasikoski, Deputy Director of Government Communications, Prime Minister’s Office, tel. +358 40 5476 279, [email protected]

Annika Saarikko