Skip to content
Government and ministries Media

Leaders of EU member states agree on appointments package

Government Communications Department 2.7.2019 21.35 | Published in English on 3.7.2019 at 13.36
Press release 361

The European Council reached agreement on a package of top-level EU appointments at their special meeting Tuesday evening (2 July). The meeting had begun on Sunday evening (30 June).

The European Council decided to propose Ursula von der Leyen as President of the European Commission. Von der Leyen is Germany’s long-serving Defence Minister and represents the centre-right (EPP). The President of the Commission is elected by the European Parliament.

The European Council agreed to nominate Spain’s Foreign Minister Josep Borrell, a social democrat (PES), for the post of High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy. Borrell has previously served as President of the European Parliament. His appointment requires the agreement of the President-elect of the Commission.

As its own President, the European Council elected Charles Michel, Prime Minister of Belgium, a liberal (ALDE).

As President of the European Central Bank, the European Council intends to appoint Christine Lagarde, who is Managing Director and Chair of the International Monetary Fund and former Finance Minister of France. The European Council will decide on the appointment on the basis of a Council recommendation and after having consulted the European Parliament and the Governing Council of the ECB.

Inquiries: Jari Luoto, State Under-Secretary for EU Affairs, tel. +358 50 468 5949, Pilvi-Elina Kupias, Special Adviser (EU Affairs), tel. +358 295 160 995, Dimitri Qvintus, Special Adviser (Media Relations), tel. +358 50 477 7362, Kare Halonen, State Secretary for EU Affairs, tel. +358 295 160 319, Anne Sjöholm, Head of Communications for EU Affairs, tel. +358 40 537 0733, Prime Minister’s Office