Skip to content
Valtioneuvoston kanslia frontpage

Ministerial working group to coordinate COVID-19 response

Government Communications Department
Publication date 30.12.2021 14.56
Press release 763/2021

In its plenary session on 30 December, the Finnish Government appointed a ministerial working group to coordinate COVID-19 response and ensure efficient exchange of information across branches of government.

As a preparatory body for the Government, the ministerial working group will discuss political choices and policy positions, matters to be decided at government plenary sessions and matters to be decided in ministries that cross administrative boundaries. The Government decided to create the ministerial working group in its negotiations on 21 December 2021. 

The ministerial working group is chaired by Krista Kiuru, Minister of Family Affairs and Social Services. Other members of the group are: 

Minister of Social Affairs and Health Hanna Sarkkinen 
Minister of Finance Annika Saarikko 
Minister of Local Government Sirpa Paatero 
Minister of Employment Tuula Haatainen 
Minister of Economic Affairs Mika Lintilä 
Minister of Education Li Andersson 
Minister of Science and Culture Antti Kurvinen 
Minister of Justice Anna-Maja Henriksson (deputy Minister for Nordic Cooperation and Equality Thomas Blomqvist) 
Minister of the Interior Krista Mikkonen 
Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Emma Kari 
Prime Minister Sanna Marin (deputy: State Secretary Henrik Haapajärvi) 

Other ministers will participate in the group’s work when matters falling within their mandate are being discussed in the group.

Director General Satu Koskela from the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health will be appointed as Secretary General of the group.

Each ministry will appoint a senior-level official to the group’s secretariat. Permanent experts to the group are the permanent secretaries of the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, the Ministry of Education and Culture, the Ministry of the Interior and the Ministry of Justice.

Inquiries: Henrik Haapajärvi, State Secretary, henrik.haapajarvi (at), Prime Minister's Office