Administrative branch and special assignments

The Prime Minister's Office is one of the twelve ministries that form the Finnish Government. It is responsible for the planning of social policy legislation that does not fall within the competence of any other ministry.

Another duty of the Prime Minister's Office is to assist the Prime Minister and the Government in their work and provide services to the public and public authorities.

The Prime Minister's Office also carries out administrative duties related to a number of projects involving both permanent and ad-hoc bodies.