Composition of the Economic Council of Finland

In addition to the Prime Minister, the Economic Council has 11–21 members appointed by the Government. Some Council members are also members of the Government.

The Economic Council is appointed for the duration of a Government term, except for Government members, whose term on the Council is limited to the duration of their ministerial term.

Mr Juha Sipilä, Prime Minister of Finland

Mr Petteri Orpo, Minister of Finance

Ms Anne Berner, Minister of Transport and Communications
Mr Jarkko Eloranta, Chairman, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions (SAK)
Mr Sture Fjäder, Chairman, AKAVA Confederation of Unions for Professional and Managerial Staff in Finland
Ms Sanni Grahn-Laasonen, Minister of Education
Mr Jyri Häkämies, Managing Director, Confederation of Finnish Industries, EK
Mr Jari Koskinen, Managing Director, Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities
Mr Jari Lindström, Minister of Employment
Mr Mika Lintilä, Minister of Economic Affairs
Mr Juha Marttila, Chairman, Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners (MTK)
Ms Pirkko Mattila, Minister of Social Affairs and Health
Mr Kai Mykkänen, Minister of the Interior
Mr Antti Palola, Chairman, Finnish Confederation of Salaried Employees (STTK)
Mr Mikael Pentikäinen, Managing Director, Federation of Finnish Enterprises
Mr Olli Rehn, Director-General, Bank of Finland
Mr Juho Romakkaniemi, CEO, Central Chamber of Commerce of Finland
Mr Sampo Terho, Minister for European Affairs, Culture and Sport
Ms Anu Vehviläinen, Minister of Local Government and Public Reforms

Secretariat of the Economic Council

The Secretariat of the Economic Council assists the Economic Council in carrying out its duties. The Secretariat prepares meetings of the Economic Council. It also organises and, in part, produces reports and analyses for use by the Council. It maintains contacts with authorities, institutions and organisations involved in economic research and with the economic and social councils of other countries. In addition, the Secretariat monitors economic policy developments and performs other duties assigned to it by the Chairperson of the Economic Council. The Secretariat of the Economic Council operates from the Prime Minister’s Office. Administratively, the Council forms part of the Government Stratery Department.

Contact Details

Mr Pekka Sinko
Secretary General of the Economic Council
Prime Minister's Office
tel. +358 295 160 189
[email protected]

Ms Iiris Koskela-Näsänen, Research Assistant
Prime Minister's Office
tel. +358 295 160 183
[email protected]