ICT 2015 follow-up group

In January 2013, the Prime Minister's Office established a follow-up group to coordinate the implementation of the policies and proposals emerging from ICT development projects. The follow-up group has the task of ensuring that policies and proposals resulting from strategic ICT development projects are duly finalised and formed into concrete decisions e.g. via the Government's strategy review session and decision on spending limits, and that such decisions are implemented in accordance with the intended scope and schedule.

Members of the follow-up group

State Secretary Olli-Pekka Heinonen of the Prime Minister's Office acts as the chair of the follow-up group. The other members are:
Pekka Ala-Pietilä, Chairman of the Board, Solidium
Jouni Backman, Member of Parliament
Tuula Haatainen, Deputy Managing Director, Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities
Martti Hetemäki, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance
Anna-Maija Karjalainen, Director General, Public Sector ICT, Ministry of Finance 
Petteri Koponen, Lifeline Ventures
Mikko Kosonen, President, Sitra
Mirjami Laitinen, Senior Advisor, Sitra
Heikki Mannila, President, Academy of Finland
Kirsi Miettinen, Director of Unit, Ministry of Transport and Communications
Petri Peltonen, Director-General, Ministry of Employment and the Economy
Pekka Puska, Director General, Tekes

Pekka Sinko of the Prime Minister's Office, who is also General Secretary of the Economic Council, will act as General Secretary of the follow-up group. In addition, the Group has appointed an expert secretariat representing various branches of government and key collaborative bodies, and has assigned a project manager to coordinate the activities of the secretariat. The follow-up group and the secretariat preparing its meetings will convene on a regular, monthly basis.

The follow-up group was re-established on 24 June 2014 for the duration of Prime Minister Alexander Stubb's term of office. The goal is a ten-year programme continuing into subsequent terms of government.


In March 2012, the then Minister of Economic Affairs, Jyri Häkämies, established an ICT 2015 Working Group chaired by Pekka Ala-Pietilä. The working group was tasked with preparing a strategy to alleviate the impacts of sudden structural change, to reform the Finnish ICT industry and to expedite new growth.

The group submitted its report,"21 Paths to a Frictionless Finland," to Minister of Economic Affairs Jan Vapaavuori and Minister of Labour Lauri Ihalainen on 17 January 2013. These paths establish a roadmap for long-term efforts to be made over the next 10 years.

The follow-up group established by the Prime Minister's Office will monitor and expedite the implementation of these measures.

Further information: